For anyone wondering, I have seen Seasons 1-6 and I am currently about 3/4 of the way through the first The Walking Dead Compendium, which puts me right about when Michonne is done torturing The Governor. So my knowledge on the comic book events is not quite up to par with the show, at the moment. Anyways, here we go!

…well that’s one way to set the tone.

So let’s get this out of the way cuz I’m sure everyone is wondering who I thought was getting some Lucille. My money was on Maggie (Lauren Cohen). Having our run in with Negan(Jeffrey Dean Morgan)  at the end of Season 6 could partially be a result of Maggie’s sickness. It looked like not getting her to the Hilltop in a timely fashion would have caused everyone’s favorite southern belle to bite the bullet. It would have only made sense for Negan to axe her. Especially, since we got a sneak peek of what ended up being the opening scene for the Season 7 premiere, and it looked our suspected murdee was right next to Rick (Andrew Lincoln). AND in that particular spot was Maggie. However, that wasn’t the case…

Before we dive into the meat and potatoes of this juicy episode, I gotta say Jeffrey Dean Morgan has been fucking steller as Negan. Again, I’m not quite sure what he’s like in the comics, but from what I’ve been told and the little tidbits I’ve seen online, he knocked it outta the park. He reminds me a tinsy bit of Westworld’s the Man In Black as I’m secretly rooting for him to come on screen every time we come back from a commercial break. However, whereas it’s debatable whether the Man In Black is actually the antagonist, I’m pretty sold on Negan being our villain for a LONG time. He’s a 100% more ruthless than The Governor and is way more fucking interesting. I love how charismatic he actually is and how he’s just the perfect amount of fucked up. Smart, witty, chaotic, calculated, just an absolutely perfect villain.

One thing I’m a bit disappointed in is the limitations AMC has with Negan. Again, this is off of some excerpts that I’ve read offline and not from first hand experience in the comics, but he is supposedly like king of the saltiest sailors. As in, he has the foulest of mouths. If you haven’t noticed yet, I tend to stray away from regular FCC approved language for the 9 o’clock showing on regular TV. Which is why I love HBO and Showtime so much. Some nastiness adds to certain characters like Joffrey and Ramsay or Frank Gallagher and Ray Donovan. With some of the fucked up shit that Negan supposedly says, I have a hard time believing they’ll get their full potential out of him. But honestly, they’re killing it with a toned down version. Still, it makes me wonder how much better he could actually be dropping a few F-bombs.

I’ve talked about power moves on this blog before but this may have been our ultimate power move, so far. This is like X-Ray move from Mortal Kombat power move. Negan. Just Negan himself is a power move. He literally made Rick his baby-back-bitch over and over and over again until he had him willing to cut off Carl’s (Chandler Riggs) arm. Which I could have totally seen Rick doing, considering Rick actually gets his hand cutoff by The Governor in the comics. This is still definitely on the table as we saw some very obvious foreshadowing throughout the entire episode: Negan talking about always needing a right-hand man, the scenes with Negan and Rick in the RV, having Rick almost cut off Carl’s arm. It could have just been a tease, but I think that hand’s getting an axe soon, no doubt.

Now the big reveal was obviously Big Red (Michael Cudlitz) getting the bat to the dome. Honestly, didn’t really see that one coming and I’m not all that disappointed. Smart move on the showrunner’s part, he wasn’t an essential character, people still liked him, and if you think back, he was getting the classic lead up. Every character they’ve killed off so far has gotten a lengthy amount of screen time leading up to their death. Sergeant Mustachio and his fingerless gloves were getting a lot of facetime leading up to our first home run of the night.

Also, I really think they did a good job pacing out the reveal too. I was hoping at first they would start right off with the kill, but I gotta say, I loved the buildup. I felt some fuckin tension in my nuts as they were getting to the reveal and it was glorious. Especially since we got a good ole Negan two-for-one!

That being said, I wasn’t a fan of Glenn (Steven Yuen) getting taken out. That one didn’t make too much sense to me. “Killing” him off last season was a great little surprise for us as he actually helped save Alexandria from an untimely downfall. However, bringing someone back just so they can get killed off so soon afterwards didn’t really do it for me. I am aware that this is exactly what happens in the comics, in all its eye bulging glory, but still, let our boy live to fight another day.

Some tidbits for the road

Although I didn’t like seeing our boy Glenny hit the road, it was far better than the alternative. I have been on the bandwagon of if Daryl dies, we riot. 100% on the train, no problem admitting that. He’s the glue that’s caused this show to still stick together despite some really fucking dull episodes, and arguably seasons. If that sandbagging redneck, crossbow-slinging, rathaired, motherfucker get’s killed off too soon, I will riot in the streets like its 1995.

That being said, I could see Daryl getting killed off this season. I really think he may be on the chopping block considering his new show/video game/movies coming out. This guy is a hot fucking commodity and I would not be surprised in the slightest if he eats it. It’ll be a sad fucking day.

Although this episode started off with a fucking bang, the ending fell pretty fuckin flat. After Negan jogs off into the sunset, we’re stuck with some flashbacks, mourning over dead Abraham and Glenn, and that’s honestly about it. For such a stellar beginning and middle, the end just left me feeling as though they got tired and needed some filler. Bush-league there fellahs, bush-fucking-league.

TDR’s 5 Vegas Picks

Daryl dies in the Season Finale:70/30

Rick gets his hand cut off at the Midseason Finale:60/40

Eugene kills a person for Abraham:40/60

Dwight (Austin Amelio) kills Simon (Steven Ogg):60/40

Plausibility of “cold as a wizards ballsac” being a REAL saying:50/50

Rating

Big League Chew

(8.8)

Thanks again for reading. Leave a comment, shoot a like, maybe some feedback, or even a follow(?). I’ll see you kiddys next time.

 

