A Ginger a Day keeps DCF Away

This was a tough one for me. On the one hand, you have the most vile character in TV history, staring you in the face. Someone who has constantly disappointed, is shit for brains, and can’t pick a uni-sexual name to save her fucking life. On the other hand, you have a god. A real man’s man. Someone who’s willing to get his hands dirty, speak the absolute truth, and act like a goddamn gentleman in the face of a real she-devil. I’m truly torn.

I really don’t see Franny/Harry getting taken away. There has been no real focus on this issue since it first started with the hobo fight. The meeting with her guidance counselor(?), the DCF circle-jerk, and a house visit didn’t seem all that menacing, especially for how it could have gone. I’m not sure if this is intentional or not but for something that seemed like it would be the major issue of this season. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining at all. For my least favorite character to get less screentime gives me a rager. But it just seems inconsistent.

Too cool for school

Generally, Lip is a character I don’t think I’ve ever hated. He’s never really done anything so bothersome and stupid that I’ve questioned my faith in humanity. Aside from some of the Karen bullshit, he’s had some great storylines and his interactions with everyone have been a treat. That being said, what the fuck happened to the whole Robin Hood schtick? It seemed like such a gung-ho point that has just been swept under the rug. After stealing a bunch of money from his shady company that shut down, he just goes back to being a dishwasher and arguing about going back to college? You can’t go full Robin Hood and come back, everyone knows that. Robin Hood til you die, son.

I do see Lip actually getting back into college. This may be the first time he’s been with a chick who’s actually rooted for him to get his life back on track, whether he likes it or not. At first, I thought Sierra was just gonna be some random girl who disappears after an episode. But it looks like she’s stickin around for awhile and I have no qualms about it. Hopefully she doesn’t turn out to be a nutzo.

Always like to see the Profesh himself come back for a hot minute. Not diggin the haircut, I like my Profesh disheveled and reeking of booze, but beggars can’t be choosers. I’ll take him when and how I can get him. Seeing him as a father figure for Lip Bizkit, especially after everything that they went through puts a smile on my face.

Gentrification, it’s for the birds

One thing Shameless does pretty well is focusing on societal issues. Whether it’s drug addiction, homophobia, the homeless, or any number of problems, they got it down pat. The main theme of this season seems to be centered around gentrification, at least for Frank and Fiona.

For Frank, it looks like his constant barrage of screaming at young children outside a private school has actually worked in his favor. Not surprised in the slightest bit. However, it’s nice to see that he actually had some emotion towards Liam and him bonding with the teacher/principal(?) got Liam’s foot in the door. A rare genuine Frank moment…That I would be my life on he ruins by boning her.

As for Fiona, finally nice to see her grab life by the balls. Seeing her deal with the “nice old lady” who turned out to be the “senile, catfood eating, might be racist old lay” in getting the laundromat together, not a fan. It was annoying, has been done over and over again, and if it didn’t end with Jimmy/Steve saving the day, I wasn’t having it. Dropping the laundromat was great, especially after she was robbing herself(?) to help support it.

Some tidbits for the road

Listen, I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, you’re missing out on primetime Jimmy opportunities! Bring that silver-tongued Don Juan back to us and maybe we can give this show a second chance. The majority of these episodes have been ending with Fiona in financial hardship or standing on the street corner, longingly looking off into the distance. These scenes have Jimmy/Steve written all over it. This is the one thing I’d like for Shameless to do, again. Keep your toes crossed people.

So it looks like Kev, V, and Svetlana took the late train into town as their first half storyline wrapped up. And boy did TDR call it! This storyline has been one of the saving graces of this fucking show. Especially with the introduction of Ghost Cock. Kev nailed it right on the head, Ghost Cock will be stamped into my brain for all eternity. A top 5 quote on this show for sure and that’s saying something. Long may the Ghost Cock reign.

DMX is great. Even though his life might have taken a dive after the whole crack thing, listening to him rap Rudolph the Rednose Reindeer makes me pitch a halfer. His run from the 90’s with the Ruff Ryders into the early 2000’s was fantastic. He’ll likely go down as one of the most popular rappers of that time frame. Don’t fucking soil his reputation by having two overly aggressive white kids awkwardly rap one of his most famous songs, right before their about to figure out who’s getting effed in the A. It’s almost as uncomfortable as the little kid from The Visit rapping. Grrrr….

A+ on the music again. This guy/girl/transgender/xe/hir/ve better be getting some type of award. See, even TDR can learn.

TDR’s 5 Vegas Picks

Jimmy/Steve comes back before the Season Finale:80/20

Debby loses Franny/Harry:20/80

Lip goes back to college:40/60

Frank bones the teacher:60/40

Ghost cock…just, ghost cock:1,000,000/0

Rating

T.G.I Friday’s Mozzarella Sticks

(7.3)

Thanks for reading. Leave a comment, drop a like, through some feedback, or just follow the blog. See you next time kiddys.

